Latest Posts

TEAM PHILIPPINES - Homeless World Cup.

By August 24, 2011

Football is the most popular sport in the world, and in the last few years it has also become a vehicle to address the global issue of homelessness. Each year, teams composed of homeless and marginalized young adults come together for the Homeless World Cup. Team Philippines represented their country with honor and pride at Melbourne, Australia, in 2008, Milan, Italy in 2009, and in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil  in 2010.

The Philippine Team to the 2011 Paris Homeless World Cup, front row from left are: Bert Anthony Sienes of Manila Boystown, Aljhonn Loui Matulac of Estancia, Iloilo, John Celiz of Barotac Nuevo, Iloilo, and Jeffrey Guelas of Leveriza, Manila. Standing from left to right are Michael Rojo of Talisay City, Negros Occidental, Jeffrey de Castro of Cainta, Rizal, Ricardo Padilla of Lingayen, Pangasinan, and Janrick Soriano also of Talisay City, Negros Occidental.(Photo courtesy of Asha Cajayon)
Street Soccer Philippines
From off the streets and onto the football field, the participants of the HWC get a once-in-a-lifetime experience that results in a renewed sense of purpose. Former team members of the Philippine delegation have made positive changes in their lives such as continuing their education or obtaining steady employment as an assistant football coach for schools.

By partnering with Team Philippines, you will become part of a compelling and compassionate catalyst for change—inspiring Filipinos worldwide as they see their own compete for the chance to succeed on a global stage, while simultaneously moving the world to a greater awareness and responsiveness to the issues of homelessness.

The team is supported by Cortal SQR.Visit for more details about Team Philippines to the Homeless World Cup. You can check out the Group C standings here

This is Mix signing out!

The 8 players chosen were:
Jeffrey Guelas (22 y/o) – Leveriza, Manila
Jeffrey de Castro (22) – Cainta, Rizal
Bert Anthony Sienes (18) – Manila Boystown
Janrick Soriano (21) – Talisay City, Negros Occidental
Michael Rojo (26) – Talisay City, Negros Occidental
Aljhonn Loui Matulac (18) – Estancia, Iloilo
John Celiz (19) – Barotac Nuevo, Iloilo
Ricardo Padilla (23) – Lingayen, Pangasinan

You Might Also Like

0 $type={blogger}