McJim announces "Dreams Get Real" winners!


It was a good night for OPM music as three equally talented aspiring musicians were declared by McJim Classic Leather the winners for their first “Dreams Get Real” Talent search. Six finalists went head to head giving their performance of a lifetime with their original pieces written by the country's best song writers.

Project head Mr. Chris Cahilig welcomed guests and supporters who attended the "Dreams Get Real" finals and promised a night of good OPM music having a sense of originality, authenticity and Pinoy flavor.
Chris Cahilig - Project Manager of McJim Dreams Get Real
The performers for that night.
Archetype for the song "Di Na Biro"
Archtype's "Di Na Biro" song gave me a "With or Without You" feel kind of song. It was slow and easy to remember. The kind of song where you will raise your hands up with the lighters lit up.

CK Arca for the song Certified Good Vibes
The Certified Goodvibes song of CK Arca was such a feel good positive song and so ready for a commercial. First brand that came to my mind was Jollibee. If that pushes through, don't forget me Jollibee and McJim! 

"Panalo" by Dream of Pearl
Representing Pinoy rock, Dream of Pearl shows potential in making it into the Pinoy rock scene.

Fifth Dynamics for the song "Anyare"
I like the catchy chorus... The verse could use a story and more meaning though. Comfortable on stage and good energy while performing.

JBK with the song "Anong Meron Ka"
The KPOP looking trio looks isn't too Pinoy but their song is. A light a feel good song.

Neo Domingo for the song "Pagbigyan Mo Na"
Talk about Pinoy pop sound and feel. Catchy and easy to sing along and dance to. Neo Domingo showed the Pinoy music flavor and charisma. He's got my vote.

Jonathan Ong of Sonic State Studio. Music arranger of  the "Dreams Get Real" entries.
Jonathan Ong shared to the audience the process and his experience in working with the contestants for the “Dreams Get Real: The Compilation Album.”. The album features original compositions they performed during the search. Joining them are 1:43, which has just launched their newest album Kalye Pop featuring the monster hit “Hayop sa Ganda,” with the song “Pwede Bang Malaman” and Urie’s Attack with the piece “Mensahe.” 

The album is composed of songs with a catchy tune, easy-to-sing-along lyrics and an unmistakable Pinoy flavor, the compilation album puts the spotlight on the McJim Dreamers. Radio-friendly tracks tackle a wide variety of subjects: from the plea of lover during a courtship to an affirmation of Filipino pride to the aftermath of a heartbreak.

Jonathan Ong (Music Arranger), Neo Domingo, Urie Tesorio (composer) and Chris Cahilig
Neo Doming won the “DJ’s Choice” special award for the song "Pagbigyan Mo Na" written by Urie Tesorio, this award was voted by selected radio jocks across the archipelago as their personal favorite. 

Jonathan Ong (Music Arranger), Joshua Bulot, Bryan del Rosario & Kim Ordonio, Urie Tesorio (composer)
and Chris Cahilig
Another special award was the “Critic’s Choice” trophy won by JBK for the song "Anong Meron Ka" also written by Tesorio, the special judge for this was none other than Mr. Jim Paredes who's from the iconinc group APO Hiking Society.

Mr. Chris Cahilig announced a triple tie. I was hoping that Neo Domingo would win it, but I guess the judges had a hard time judging the three. 

Grand champions, JBK, Fifth Dynamics and Neo Domingo received cash prizes and gift packs from McJim Classic Leather, a recording and management contract, and a grant to film and release the music videos of their winning singles. 

Congratulations to those who performed! It's nice that McJim is doing something to promote OPM and giving hopes to our local artists. Looking forward to the second year of the McJim Dreams Get Real. 

For more updates, visit McJim on Facebook.

More photos below.

Post a Comment


Post a Comment (0)